Kimi Marin Yoga

Honor limitations. Transcend Boundaries.

10 Tips to Get Off Your Butt

Back when I was running an average of 6 miles a day, one thing was always certain: the first mile was always the hardest.  I loved running but there were days where I didn’t want to run — but once I started, I didn’t want to stop. On those days when getting out the door was tough, my reason would compromise with my desire-to-chill in order to get my body moving. Here are some of the tips I learned to get out the door and how I have adapted them for different areas to get my “butt off the couch” – Please use what you can, change what you need, discard what doesn’t work:

1) For running/walking/biking: All I need to do is go around the block. 1 block. 5 minutes. That is all.

2) For running/walking/biking: All I need to do is make it to that lightpost/tree/stopsign/*insert*.

3) For meditation: 5 minutes is all I need.

4) For meditation: Just 1 minute. Just 1 minute.

5) Yoga practice at home: 3 sun saluations, that is it. Maybe a warrior II…

6) Yoga practice at a studio: All I have to do is breathe.

7) Yoga practice at a studio: I can be in child’s pose is all else fails.

8) Quitting smoking  (taking a friend’s word on this technique): All I have to do is not smoke this hour/meal/day

9) For not eating that yummy temptation: hmmm– I haven’t figured that out yet

10) For anything: Don’t think, move

Ultimately, if you enjoy something that is biggest draw — remember what you love and do it.  Adapt these for your life. I would LOVE to hear your motivational tools.

In Joy, Yogis!

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “10 Tips to Get Off Your Butt

  1. Thanks for the top tips! We definitely spend enough time on our butts! Haha. I used to use a similar set of tips for studying – tiny, tiny bits at a time and it feels like nothing. It’s definitely a good way of getting over procrastination.

Leave a Reply

