Kimi Marin Yoga

Honor limitations. Transcend Boundaries.

7 Days, 7 Love Stories

We are told that love is all around us, all the time. I spend so much time in my head, dwelling on a crude remark or a selfish act (usually my own), that I often fail to see that beauty, compassion, and heart-opening gratitude around me. Realizing that our reality is dependent upon our perspective, I opened my eyes, heart, and mind, and here is a very-condensed list of what I saw:

Sunday: My cousin’s wife was hit by a car while riding her bike and has a brain injury. Being in the hospital and witnessing how my cousin spoke softly to his wife, fed her ice cubes, and held her stable when she sat up was a lesson in quiet, committed love.

Monday:  The most confident, or dumbest, cat followed his dog friend to the park. This courageous feline strutted onto the grass and sat down among running dogs and ball tossing to watch, and be with, his canine friend.

Tuesday: A woman left yoga class to be surprised by her partner and their two kids waiting outside. They brought her a box of pastries and coffee to say good morning. Her smile enveloped the four of them as they walked down the street together.

Wednesday: On a hot evening at the country fair, just when I thought my thin cotton dress was too heavy, I saw two large pigs sleeping and “spooning” each other.  All the other pigs kept to themselves.

Thursday: A man working diligently in his yard, carefully tending to all his plants. He bent down and inspected each tomato, mindfully moved the water hose to his sunflower plant, and nimbly maneuvered between plants to weed.  Each plant had the essence of a small child under his care.

Friday:  A smile from a stranger.  It lit up my heart.

Saturday: Teenagers stealing glances at each other at a city festival. The jut of a hip, the puff of a chest, as teenagers circled each other, embarrassed blushes when eyes met. Ah, the game of love and courtship.

I felt better, lighter on my feet when I began to see that I am part of a glorious world. I realized that my own contributions of compassion and love were not for me but to make the world better for everyone I share this time with. Being a part of the positive, cheesy as it sounds, makes me a happier person.

What do you see when you look around?  Shadows dancing, a sunset, two people holding hands? I would love to hear what you have to share. Whatever or however you see and feel love, breathe it in and allow the sensations to enhance who you are.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

